Answers to yesterday’s You Are the Ref

If you missed the quiz yesterday, take a look. Below are the answers courtesy Keith Hackett and the UK’s Guardian.

Keith Hackett’s verdict

1) Tricky. The striker may have faked the whole thing to put the keeper off, but you’d have to be very sure before taking action against him. Technically, he has taken the kick in one movement and scored a valid penalty and the keeper should not have dropped his guard – so award the goal. Thanks to Philip Hawthorn.
2) The manager can indeed replace him in the starting line-up with one of his named substitutes. It just means that his side now has one fewer substitute. Calm everyone down before starting the game and include full details in your report.
3) Award a penalty for deliberate handball – and caution one of the two players for the offence. This is one piece of advice referees often give to defensive walls – it’s fine to deliberately make themselves larger by jumping when the kick is taken, but if their hands are raised in the process the dangers are obvious.

Advertisements