Answers to yesterday’s You Are the Ref

If you missed the quiz yesterday, take a look. Below are the answers courtesy Keith Hackett and the UK’s Guardian.

Keith Hackett’s verdict

1) Tricky. The striker may have faked the whole thing to put the keeper off, but you’d have to be very sure before taking action against him. Technically, he has taken the kick in one movement and scored a valid penalty and the keeper should not have dropped his guard – so award the goal. Thanks to Philip Hawthorn.
2) The manager can indeed replace him in the starting line-up with one of his named substitutes. It just means that his side now has one fewer substitute. Calm everyone down before starting the game and include full details in your report.
3) Award a penalty for deliberate handball – and caution one of the two players for the offence. This is one piece of advice referees often give to defensive walls – it’s fine to deliberately make themselves larger by jumping when the kick is taken, but if their hands are raised in the process the dangers are obvious.

Another You Are the Ref from The Guardian

Let’s hope none of our youth soccer referees ever encounter this situation! Answers to the questions tomorrow. Courtesy Guardian UK, Keith Hackett, Paul Trevillion.

You are the Ref Jon Moss

 

Answer to yesterday’s You Are the Ref

Yesterday, we posted an issue of The Guardian UK’s You Are the Ref. If you missed it, click here. Below are Keith Hackett’s answers:

1) Not a penalty as the ball is not in play. If you have not seen the incident and think he might be play-acting, take the injured player to one side with his captain. Remind them that you expect them to participate in the game in a fair and equitable manner. Ignore the appeals. If you have seen the incident, send off the defender for violent conduct. Either way, restart with the corner-kick.
2) Ignore any such comments at half-time. However, the referee is at fault here. He should have ensured before kick-off that the goalkeeper is easily distinguished from his team-mates and the opposition and is wearing a jersey or shirt with long sleeves, which is now the requirement for all players.
3) The offence has occurred off the field. So stop play and caution the defender for unsporting behaviour, holding the forward, and restart play with a dropped ball. If you deem that the forward would have gained possession of the ball and has been denied an obvious goalscoring opportunity as he was well ahead of the chasing pack then send the defender off.

Another edition of You Are the Ref

The Guardian UK and Paul Hackett bring Paul Trevillion’s classic back to life. We’ll bring you the answers tomorrow.

You Are The Ref

You Are The Ref Wayne Rooney answers

Here are Keith Hackett’s answers to yesterday’s “You Are the Ref puzzler”. If you missed it, you can view it here.

1) This is a club decision, so the manager is entitled to take that view – but you do have a duty of care. If you feel that this defender genuinely cannot continue for the corner kick without receiving some medical attention, then you have the option of bypassing the club physio and calling for a stretcher. That alone may make the manager change his mind. Thanks to Philip Taylor.
2) Award the goal. There’s nothing in the laws that says the kick taker must be facing the keeper. Thanks to Alan Fenwick for this question, who says his dad saw Len Shackleton do this at Roker Park in the 50s. I know Len is revered in Sunderland – I once had to break up a fight between a Sunderland fan and a Newcastle fan arguing over whether he was the best all-time great centre forward. You have to admire the passion in that part of the world.
3) Show some common sense, and tell these opportunistic opponents to leave the officiating to you. Ask the player to remove the shirt, which was clearly a joke, and only consider cautioning him if he shows any dissent. Include it in your report.

You Are The Ref Wayne Rooney

We have a couple more installments coming of The Guardian UK’s “You Are the Ref”,  the classic from Paul Trevillion. Answers will follow each day.

You are the Ref Wayne Rooney

You are the Ref Roy Hodgson answers

Here are Keith Hackett’s answers to yesterday’s “You Are the Ref puzzler”. If you missed it, you can view it here.

1) Under the old interpretation of the offside law your assistant would have flagged the moment the ball was played towards the striker. But these days an offside offence is not committed until the player involved becomes active. Therefore, as play was still live, this defender is guilty of a straightforward deliberate handball. Award a penalty and a yellow card. It’s not a red because, had the ball reached the striker, he would then have been flagged – so there was no goalscoring opportunity.
2) Look at it like this: the ball is in contact with his hand inside the penalty area while play is live, and the action was deliberate – so award a penalty. The fact that the offence started outside the box is irrelevant. Show him a yellow card. Thanks to James Bloodworth.
3) First, delay the corner then call both players over to you. Show them a yellow card each – unless the defender pushed the striker in the face, which would be a red card. As play was not live, you don’t need to worry about awarding a penalty: restart with the original corner.

You Are The Ref Roy Hodgson

We have a couple more installments coming of The Guardian UK’s “You Are the Ref”,  the classic from Paul Trevillion. Answers will follow each day.

Roy Hodgson You are the Ref

You Are The Ref Gareth Bale answers

Here are Keith Hackett’s answers to yesterday’s “You Are the Ref puzzler”. If you missed it, you can view it here.

1) You cannot give a goal based on what the technology is telling you, because the frame of the goal has been totally compromised. So stop play immediately and signal for the groundstaff to replace the goal. Once that is done to your satisfaction, ask the Hawk-Eye engineers to re-calibrate their system, then restart with a dropped ball on the six-yard line parallel to the goal line. Thanks to Richard Alford.
2) Was it a deliberate act? You would be hard pushed to be certain of that – in all probability it was an accident. So that’s how I would treat it: stop play and restart with a dropped ball. Thanks to Gareth Pritchard.
3) It seems bizarre, but, then again, last month the Atlético Madrid assistant coach German Burgos was pictured using this technology while sitting on the bench. So take a look at the glasses, and if they do incorporate the technology insist that they are removed and report the matter to the authorities. The laws state players and staff are not allowed to use electronic communication systems, and I would extend that to this device too.

You Are The Ref Gareth Bale

In admiration of our favorite soccer comic strip, The Guardian UK’s “You Are the Ref”, we bring you the fourth in a week’s worth of installments of the classic from Paul Trevillion. Answers will follow each day.

Gareth Bale You are the Ref